>> The Awards
>> 2006
>> 2005
>> 2004
>> 2003
>> 2002
>> 2001
>> 2000
>> 1999
>> 1998
>> 1997
                >> Nomination Form

2000 • 4th Annual SAWW Awards

The 4th Annual SAWW Awards ceremony was held on Saturday, August 12, 2000 at Le Meridien King Edward Hotel, Toronto. Magnificent Protea arrangements were designed by Gwen Coffen and flown in from South Africa by Dr Botha, from the Botanical Gardens in Cape Town. Guests included Dorothy Masuka who had the audience in an uproar when she sang Pata Pata and the Heritage Group who sang moving renditions of the national anthems of both South Africa and Canada. Dr. Brigalia Bam, our keynote speaker, delivered the Tribute to South African Women's Day

A pre-cocktail reception for the recipients of the 4th Annual Awards was hosted by Judge Maurice Charles and his wife, Dr. Winifred van der Ross-Charles. The garden party was also held to welcome the Madiba Legends who performed at the Awards Ceremony and  all the out of town guests who flew in from Portugal, Germany, Spain, South Africa, Ottawa, New Brunswick, Holland and United Kingdom. To view photographs of the garden party please click HERE.

To view the personal profiles of the 2000 recipients, click on the links below:

Ellen Kuzwayo
Ubuntu Award

Brigalia Ntombemhlope Bam
Social Justice Award

Thandi Luthuli-Gcabashe
Race Relations Award

Phyllis Spira-Boyd
Performing Arts Award

Dolana Mogadime
Young Woman of Distinction Award

Teresa Naseba Marsh
Community & Children's Health Award

Anthea Rossouw
Community Development Award

Lynn Fisher
Education Award

Shanthie Naidoo
Human Rights Award

Beverley Chalmers
Women's Health Research Award

Fatima Bhyat
ANC Women's League Award

Dolana Mogadime who 
received  the Young Woman 
of Distinction Award from
Mr. Ron So, President and CEO of Creative Art Glass.

Anthea Rossouw receives the Community Empowerment 
Award from Mr. Daniel Bobbie, Official Representative of SATOUR, South African Tourism Board.

Phyllis Jordan accepts the
Ubuntu Award on behalf of Ellen Kuzwayo from Mary-Anne Chambers, Senior Vice-President, Electronic Banking, Bank of Nova Scotia, one of our major sponsors

Mr. David Marsh and his wife Teresa Naseba Marsh, who received the Community and Children's Health Award

Above left: Shanthie Naidoo (left) receives her Human Rights Award from Mayann E Francis, Executive Director Nova Scotia Human Rights Commission

Above right: Mr. Bob Armstrong, Treasurer of the Law Society of Upper Canada who presented Dr. Brigalia Bam with the Social Justice Award

Above left: Patron and Federal Member of Parliament, The Honourable Dr Jean Augustine, who brought greetings from the Prime Minister of Canada

Above right: Mr. Derick Moyo, Office of the South African High Commissioner  brought greetings on behalf of the President of  South Africa and signage interpreter Karen van Dalen

The Heritage Group, who sang the national anthems of South Africa and Canada

Above left: Carole Adriaans, SA High Commissioner, His Excellency Andre Jaquet, Karen van Dalen (who signed for the evening), Mayann Francis, Executive Director of Human Rights Commission for Nova Scotia and Linda Jaquet.

Above right: The Most Reverend Archbishop Desmond Tutu with guests